South Africa

General information about South Africa
Flagge Wappen
flag armorial bearings
Republic of South Africa

South Africa (slogan „different people united“) is a presidential republic with federal elements at the southernmost tip of Africa. The country, with an area of approx. 1.2 million km2 (ca. 3,4 x the size of Gemany), has 11 official languages and approx. 48 millions inhabitants (ca. half of the population of Germany). The capital is Pretoria. South Africa has been independant since 1910; however, apartheid reigned until 1994. 80% Blacks, 9% Whites, 9% coloured people und 2% Asians live in South Africa. The country's main income are its natural ressources: its heavy industry and food production. Wineries and tourism have developped as important economic factors since the end of the 20th century.

    Known keywords:
  • Personalities: Nelson Mandela, Desmond Tutu
  • Places: Cape Town, Soweto, Krüger National park
  • Sports: Rugby, Football World Cup 2010
  • Treats: Wine, fruits, friendliness
  • Travel: Gardenroute, Big Five, Safari
  • Problems: Aids, crime, poverty
  • Contrasts: poor + rich, cities and veld, „armed response“ villas and townships
  • History: English people and Boers, Apartheid, ANC

Answers, testimonials and statements from local people, citation or interesting extracts from reports can be found under FAQ, facts, testimonials. Interesting information, backgrounds and explanations can be found: